Worse than childbirth?

Yesterday I tore some of my intercostal muscles. In case you dont know where or what they are they read on.

inhale

Intercostal muscles are several groups of  muscles that run between the ribs, and help form and move the chest wall. The intercostal muscles are mainly involved in the mechanical aspect of breathing. These muscles help expand and shrink the size of the chest cavity when you breathe.

Athletes involved in sports involving lots of twisting often get this type of injury but I managed to tear the muscles by coughing whilst twisting round. The act of twisting your upper body stretches the intercostal muscles and the cough stretched them to breaking point.  I have torn one at the front just below by nipples and the other is in about the same position at the back.

When it first happened it was incredibly painful.  I screamed out, dropped to one knee, went very pale and felt sick.  I thought I would actually pass out.  I have had loads of injuries and accidents over the years but this was one of the most painful incidents that I can remember.

Not too long ago I fell head first through TWO glass doors (not easy to do as they were 10 yeards apart!) and had large shards of glass sticking out of my head.  That incident hurt nowhere near as much as this although it has to be said that when I went through the glass I was drunk!  Here is a quote from an online medical forum

“I can honestly say it felt worse than childbirth

 

I find that surprising and an unlikely thing to be true but as I have never given birth (and being a male am unlikely to ever do) I cant be certain but it sure did hurt.childbirth

Going forward I have been given painkillers and told to rest but unlike other muscles resting your intercostal muscles is not really possible as without them you will not breathe! I think I will carry on with the breathing and just live with the pain.  Probably a bit better in a few days.

 

rip

 

Leave a Reply

