A good kisser

I have been married for 18 years, to the same woman, remarkable some would say in this day and age.  I don’t know how she has put up with me all this time, I’m just lucky I guess! ball and chain

Anyway what this means is I don’t have to worry about ‘dating’, thank god.  I can still, just about, remember being single and how awkward I felt talking to someone of the opposite sex, and I am not a shy person.

In the old days, when I was a young man, everybody either met their partners at work or in a pub or at a disco (for younger readers read ‘nightclub’).  But these days it seems with everybody apparently having ‘busy’ lives, internet dating is the way forward.  There are statistics available for the USA which are quite startling.

  • There are 54 million ‘single’ people in the US
  • 40 million of those single people have used and internet dating site (close to 80%!)
  • In the US the online dating industry is worth over $1 billion
  • The biggest US site is E-Harmony, which has an application form with over 400 questions.  That is a LOT of questions! You would have to be pretty keen to fill that out.
  • The split between male and female internet dating site users is approximately 50%, which is handy

single

In the UK the stats are harder to track down but there are an estimated 9 million UK members of online dating sites.  The largest membership sites in the UK are Zoosk (which started as a Facebook application), Match (also a US site), E Harmony (US again) and Elite singles (aimed at business professionals).

This is all well and good but what did singles do before the internet came along?  Well lonely hearts adverts were placed in newspapers and magazines. Because adverts were often charged by the letter ‘daters’ invented a language which was the fore runner of ‘text speak’.  Things like WLTM (would like to meet), NK (no kids), GSOH (good sense of humour) and many others. Unfathomable to those not in the ‘know’.

This route is still used today by a lot of people.  My local paper, The Cornishman, has TWO separate pages of lonely hearts ads.  There is a ‘normal’ one and a separate one for FARMERS!  Presumably ladies only respond to adverts in the second section if they fancy becoming a farmers wife, ha ha!

farmers wife

It also used to be reasonably common for people to advertise themselves on little cards in newsagents windows although I doubt whether anyone would dream of doing that now. But that particular dating route is what set me of thinking about this post.  I was somehow recently reminded of something I had seen on a little card in a newsagents shop window in Ledbury (Herefordshire) about 6 years ago.  I cant remember the exact wording but the card said something along these lines . . . . . .

“I am a single local man, 5 foot 10 aged 40 with dark hair and working locally. I would like to meet a lady for a relationship.  Age and looks are unimportant, personality is what I am interested in”.

Then there was one further line which, even though it is at the end, seems to me to be the MOST important requirement . . . . . . . .

Must be a good kisser“.

Now thats what i call an advert!  No beating around the bush, direct and to the point! Nice.

kiss-lips

Leave a Reply

